The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author suggests that The monarch books open a cafe alongside its book store and replace the children’s book section but is incapable of making a cogent suggestion to gain more profit. The Board of Directors go on to state that opening the cafe would attract more customers as the Monarch books have been in business for over twenty years. Also the children's section should be discontinued based on a national survey. This would attract more customers and better compete with regal book stores. The suggestion seems appropriate at first glance but on a closer inspection is found to be rife with holes and assumptions. Let us further look into this.

Firstly, the author makes an unlikely assumption that since the book shop has been doing so well; the cafe will also do equally well and will prove to be profitable. The book shop is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects which nowhere implies that the cafe would also attract people based on that. It is possible that people only come there for the books. There is a possibility that there is a better cafe nearby which has not been considered by them?

Secondly, an unstated assumption is made based on a national census about the reduction in number of children below the age of ten. It does not necessarily imply that this will reduce the number of purchases of children books. A national census cannot alone account for the reduction in number of children in that particular location. Moreover, this nowhere implies that the popularity of the books will be reduced. Hence, this can be considered a false analogy.

Thirdly, it is assumed that monarch will be able to compete in a better way with regal books if it starts a cafe. However, no information about regal books has been provided. It is quite possible that regal books weren't doing well with the book business and as a consequence had to start a cafe. Also, since regal books have already opened their cafe, there are chances that monarch cafe won't be that popular. There are chances that a good cafe is already open in that location which will not help monarch in making better business.

To strengthen the argument, the author will have to address these assumptions. The facts and data provided are insufficient to prove to be worthy. There are chances that Monarch cafe would do well by opening a cafe but the argument provided here stands flawed. So, unless better reasons and facts are provided to support the argument, it stands unconvincing and flawed.