The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager of monarch books stated that the profit rate can be increased by replacing children's section books with a cafe and ward off competition from book and bean. From national census data, we have evidence that the percentage of the population of children is lowering which may result in a decline in buying of children's books. However, before this recommendation can be fully evaluated, the following questions must be answered.

Firstly, are the type of books sold in monarch and book and bean comparable? In other words, if the books of the newly launched company may not be in relation to monarch books. it may result in no comparison for competition with it. As the citizens in collegeville are already habituated with monarch books, most of the people may not show interest as they already know that the required books are in monarch books store. And also the type of books people around there use can also be known mostly by monarch books. if the books store can't be comparable, the conclusion drawn in the original argument may not hold good.

Secondly, is the percentage of under teens decreased in collegeville? From the national census, it gives the data related to all the areas of the country and most probably it is the mean of all of them. if the ratio of underteen in population is not decreased in that particular area, if their section is removed, the people who specifically want those type of books may start moving to book and bean store which results in loss of customers. if the above scenario is merit, the author's conclusion is significantly weakened.

Thirdly, are the people of collegeville very fond of coffee? In other words, we may possibly not know if the people are willing to have a coffee in a book store while having a glance or reading them. As the people are already fond of just reading books and the amiable atmosphere, they may possibly do not prefer to have coffee in the store. we do not have sufficient evidence of their likely to have a coffee shop in the store. if the above scenario is true, the recommendation doesn't hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to it's reliance on unwarranted assumptions. if the author is able to answer the above questions and provide proper evidence (perhaps in research form like surveys), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to remove the children's section and supplant it with a cafe to increase profit margins and to sustain the competition of book and bean store.