The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a five-hundred-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read costs only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits to Acme. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

The personnel director recommend the president of Acme Publishing Company that if employee take course of Easy Speed-Reading, it will clearly help to make more productivity and it will make more profit than ever. It seems very logical at first glance, but it isn’t when it goes in detail

First of all, there should be an evidence that one graduate who was reading less than 500 pages report in two hours. If one of graduate learned from Easy Speed-reading, there should be an evidence that how was he doing before taking this course because if he read a little bit close to amount of paper he read after taking course, then there is no benefit from it.

Secondly, there should be question answered that what is the relative connection that reading productivity could give rising status of job position. Just because reading productivity increases, that doesn’t mean that people of Acme Publishing Company will give graduate better job status. Surely, graduate does better ideas than others or make project better than other people, so he made a promotion under a year. To make reading productivity connection with promotion better, then there should be an example that would be understandable why this is called a ‘good’ deal.

Furthermore, question should be answered that how many people are working in Acme Publishing Company? It will be valuable that having Easy Speed-Reading Course offered to all of the employee. Let’s be realistic, Since there is no statement about how many people are working in the Acme Publishing Company, it will be problematic if the money spent is overreached their assets. Thus, argument should require number of people who are in Acme Publishing Company.

Moreover, question need to be answered is what are the events that are in three-week seminar in Spruce City? If there any supportive ideas about improving reading productivity then it will help to understand president of Acme Publishing Company. However, since there is no evidence what kind of seminar would help to engender reading productivity, this would affect the argument negatively.

Conclusively, with all answers provide to the question above, the ambiguous recommendation will be better cohesive and logically understandable. Finally, this will help how president of Acme Publishing Company will proceed the decision.