The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The author, the personal director to the president of Acme Publishing Company(ACP), is arguing for all employees to take Easy Read Speed-Reading Course to improve their productivity given that the course increased the productivity of employees of other companies that took the course. This is a very cost intesive decision , $500 per employee times all the employees of the company, and as such a number of questions should be answered before making this decision.

Central to the author's argument is that the productivity of employees of other companies improved only, or at least mostly, due to the course. The final outcome evinced could have been the result of a number of factors. Better management, better work environment, or even personal training by the employees would probably lead to better productivity. There also may have been some dramatic change in their working procedure which could yield the observed result. With so many possibilities it is almost impossible to say for sure wheather the prime reason for increased productivity. Moreover the author cited two examples of employees in other companies whose productivity supposedly increased after fininshing the course. The set of two people is just too small to draw the general concusion that productivity increases after taking part in the course; and on top of that applying the same to the specific case of ACP is even more far-fetched. Therefore, given all the possibilities, it is necessary to know definitively wheather the course improves productivity and wheather it will do the same for employees of ACP.

The author also suggests that $500 is 'a small price to pay' for the benefits of higher productivity. However, considering the large monetary investment that will be needed for this project, it behooves the company to make a quantitative comparison of the total cost to the perceived benefit before putting any money for this project.

The author recommended that every employee should be required to take this course; but will the course significantly benefit productivity of every employee that takes it? Someone working in accounts section or perhaps in customer care don't generally peruse 500 page reports. Reading forms only a minor part of their assigned task and definitively not the limiting factor in their productivity; as such, increase in reading speed will only affect their performance minimially. Hence such employees do not need to be signed up for a course to increase their reading speed.

There is also another possible outcome of the reading course that the author overlooks, and that is the effect this will have on employees in the long run. Increased reading speed might come at th price of increased strain on the eyes and the mind (i.e. stress). Over years the cumulative effect of this might stress related illness and eye disorders, which would in turn lead to increased sick leave and overall drop in productivity. Furthermore, as these effects would take years to manifest this would not be visisble in the employees of other companies, because they themselves applied it only recently.

So overall, all the effects of the reading course should be properly studied before going forward with the costly investment.