The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

Recently, there have been discussions about ending Grove College's century-old tradition of all-female education by admitting male students into our programs. At a recent faculty meeting, a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. However, Grove students, both past and present, are against the idea of coeducation. Eighty percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Therefore, we recommend maintaining Grove College's tradition of all-female education. We predict that keeping the college all-female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this recommendation, the President and administrative staff of Grove College wrote to the college's governing committee to preserve their century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admitting male candidates into their college. However, the recommendation given suffers from several unanswered variables and is therefore scarily credible and unconvincing to me. Albeit, it may appear plausible at cursory glance.

To begin with, the author purposes that 80 % of the students responded, to a survey conducted by the student government, they wanted all-female education. This might seem appeasing at first glance. But we cannot deny the fact that all the students who responded to the survey were female and were already admitted in the college. The author need to consider the male-oriented view as well. Which means, what if there are some male-students who want to get into Grove? The author should survey the students outside the college who want to apply to Grove and then consider the male-female ratio in the survey. This would help the college administration to get a clearer view of what percent of male students want to get into the college.

In addition to this, the author mentions over half of the alumna who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. However, 'over a half' does not signify a really great number. For example there are 100 alumnae been surveyed, out of which 51 opposed coeducation while 49 agreed to it. In such a case the difference between the numbers are not significant enough to get to a particular decision. The author in this case must specify the actual numbers instead of relying on vague terminologies.

Finally, the author agrees with the fact that the faculty voted in favor of coeducation. According to me, the faculty should be given more importance rather than relying on the student survey. Faculty has more knowledge and experience than the students. Introducing male students in the program would of-course encourage more students to apply to the college and eventually the number of students would increase. This would also help the college getting more funds by the college's governing committee.

In conclusion, the author seems to be in precipitous to jump to the conclusion based on a series of problematic assumptions pertaining to continue all-female education in Grove college. To strengthen this argument, further analysis and different perspectives need to be considered. If the argument had discussed the points stated above, it would have been more through and logically accepted.