The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company, the company should have to increasse its next year bugdet primarily on the advertising. To make this argument, the director assumes that the lower number of viewers for the film is due to insufficient publicity despite of increament on the positvie review. I found this argument irrational because it rests upon several undounded assumption.

In the first analysis, the director assumes that despite his movies have quality, the fewer attenment on his movies is due to lack of advertisemt. He seeks no improvement on quality but in advertisement. However, since no any independent report had not mentioned the same, it is implausible to conend so. Moreover, people appriciate the quality nomatter who makes it. So, to make his movies more famous, he might have to focus on the quality. Additionally, since, positive reviews are also increasing despite the number of viewrs of the movies, the director might have to think about other ways to increse his market.;

Secondly, the director assumes the annonimous report to make such deciosn which seems to be audacious itself. If he director is inclined to make more resolute decision, he might have to check the credibilty of the research report. Again, it can be possible that the report might not contain the other potential reason of the lower attainmnet of viewrs like, condition of movie theatre, beheavior of the theatre official etc. thus, the director might have to question on the credibilty of the report before making decision based opon this.

Thirdly, the director also seems to be very confident about increase in publicity can really bolster its market. It is irony to assumes so in the case where viewers are decresing actually when positive review is increasing. Moreover the director might be wasteffully spendinmg its budget if he is willing to spend on the same job which is not prodcuing any benifit.

In concluison, the assumption it takes to makes the decision renders the argument flawed. Thus to make more pragmatic decision, the director would have took the credible report and to find other solutions like to enhance the quality, improve the comfort of the theatre etc to increase its revenue.