The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo of director asserts that Buckingham college should build a number of new dormitories to accommodate and attract more student in the college. To make this argument, he assumes that housing rent of the town outside the will stay hike and students will be attracted to cheaper housing facilities of college . I found this argument irrational because it rests upon several faulty assumptions.

Firstly, the director assumes that students will keep coming on the college in the same rate as it is now and predicts that number of student will be double in next fifty years. The source of that data is still unknown. And let us assume that present rate is increasing, what is the main cause that makes student keep coming in the same rate as it is today. Without mentioning any plausible reason he makes prediction that number will increase. Author would have given a plausible source of data or prediction there to make it more justifiable.

Secondly, the director makes assumption that establishing such residency will attract more student to the college. As a matter of fact, many students chose college by closely examine faculties and course experts that they are willing to pursue rather than just watching luxurious dormitories. Thus, making prediction that student will increase by double of the figure that campus has for now on the basis of such assumption seems spurious. Thus, if college really want to increase the student, it just have to focus on strength of faculty and resources that helps to crease sturdy academic environment rather than focusing on luxuries.

Thirdly, director assumes that hike on average rent on the town will long last without any evidence to prove it. Such prediction made his stance weak that people will choose on campus apartment for their residency. That is actually fallacious assumption. Town planner might have been thinking to settle price of apartment rent to the normal so that a general people can afford it. And there is not any such clue to support director's assume that campus can distribute residency among the students on the lower price than the town apartments. Rather, director would have conducted the study prior to make such claim.

In conclusion, director's argument that building a number of new dormitories that can offer student housing in low price than town and this will help to increase the number of student who enroll in the college is unjustifiable. To strength the argument, the director would have provided strong evidence that college can offer cheaper residency to students and stronger promise to increase strength of faculty of campus.