GRE sample argument pool essay topic 2

The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

A number of research is being done all around the world to broaden our knowledge on how body of living organism work. The prompt provides a brief part of findings of such study. According to the author, birth order has effects on an individual's levels of stimulation as seen in a study of number of rhesus monkeys. However, before reaching to conclusion, the author should provide answer to following questions which qualifies the unjustified assumptions of the argument.

First of all, does eighteen monkeys represent all the animals around the world? There are more than twenty different species of monkeys themselves. What if the effects on stimulation is limited to those specimens only and could not be validated to other animals? The sample size is too low to reach any conclusion. Also, the monkeys taken into study might be from the same society and all showed same behavior. Brain function of monkeys are known to be very close to that of human beings. They try to imitate and learn behavior of others in their surroundings. If the monkeys are from same herd, then they certainly cannot represent other monkeys, let alone the whole living organism and the argument won't stand.

Secondly, it might not necessarily be true that the higher production of cortisol in first born when any threat occurs or monkeys from other clans appear, is due to the order of its birth. It might be because the first born are bigger in size than the younger ones and bigger the size more the generation of cortisol. And after further growth, the younger ones also start producing same amount of the hormone. Unless the author provides us information about the relation between size of the animal and production of hormone, the argument will not hold water.

And finally, the author is assuming that if monkeys and human have similar nature, then all other beings will follow the same pattern. It is not true most of the time. For example, a human child after being born needs nurturing for a long period of time for her to be able to go out to the world for survival. However, the baby tiger will learn to hunt and feed in its own within days. Same goes to even domesticated animals like cows and goats. So, to just summarize by matching the research findings to human behavior is absurd and can lead to wrong results.

So, if the author provides answers to the above questions and justify the unwarranted assumptions he made in the prompt, then the letter can be taken for further consideration.