Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

The argument states that people who are consuming green tea more than three cups per day are likely to suffer from the same caffeine symptoms. This argument is rife of several unwarranted evidence. First of all, the author should provide more evidence to be able to evaluate the argument and its conclusion effectively.

To begin, the argument based on a long-term study on people who are consuming green tea, says that better for those people to drink less than two cups a day to avoid wakefulness and headache. However, this conclusion not persuasive enough for the green tea consumers; firstly, the argument should provide more evidence. For example, how many the participants who were in this study; this study could be operated on a small sample of people which surely doesn’t express the whole people who used to drinking green tea. This sample perhaps from an area is full of noise such as a bustling city which in turn contributed to let its denizens for consuming other caffeine sources, and consequently influenced the outcome in this study. Therefore, if the above is true; then, the argument doesn’t hold water.

Further, based upon the previous point, if we assume that the number of samples was enough to give an accurate picture on the green tea symptoms or even from a bucolic city where nature and calmness; however, the argument overlooked when displayed the mentioned study to illustrate on which group of age the study has been done. For example, the age is a significant factor should be taken into account for those symptoms; as people who are 50 or older are prone to have chronic diseases such as high blood pressure which is maybe in charge of the headache. Moreover, the sleep problem could be because of some other factors which confounded with the outcome. For instance, those participants were people who involved in laborious work such as doctors or sites’ engineers. Such jobs perhaps contribute to exhaust (strain) those workers and as corollary feel weariness and tiredness. Thus, if the above scenarios are valid, then drawn conclusion in the original argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is remarkably flawed because of its reliance on several unwarranted evidence. The author should provide more evidence to be feasible to evaluate the argument effectively and determine if the green tea is correlated to the mentioned symptoms or not.