The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument states that the council of Maple County predicts that the houses prices will increase if the proposed measure to prevent the development of exisiting farmland has been establised. However, this development restriction could result in houses price’s increase, but to evaluate such assumption, the author of this argument should answers to some questions to investigate whether the argument prediction is valid.

The fisrt question should be answered is what the reason of increasing of the housing price? The answer of this question will provide the reader if there an inflation in the money value or it was icreasing in the actual value of the money. For example, from fifteen years age it could be to buy a house with two bed rooms and one bath costs $10,000, and nowadays the equivelant value to $ 10,000 is 20,000 which is not doubling in the house value but this increase results from an inflation. Therefore, if this is a factor for the mentioned increase that means the proposed measure wasn’t the reason and thus the argument assumption is based on unwarranted assumption.

Further, if the previous scenario is not valid and there was no inflation and the increase in housing value in Chestnut count was because of the real increasing in the actual value of money, that is also not a guarantee that the increasing results from such proposed measure. The conclusion drawn in the argument to be valid, the author should answer the following question. How many people in Chestnut county? This question is important to show if the increase was a proportional to the population increase or not. For example, if a county has 10 persons and each ive in separated house, so the number of houses should be corresponded to the number of people live in the country, but what if the country has 50 people and only 10 house, here the situation is different as the correspondence is not valid and will result in icreasing the house prices. Therefore, if the above situation is correct that makes the conclusion in the agrument significantly weakened.

Moreover, the author of the argument deduced his conclusion based on comparing between two different times. Housing increase in Chestnut county resulted after fifteen years. So, how can we compare between two time too far apart from each other.The author should answer further question about how thses housing were built? They were built from premetive bricks or have the same materials and features for the modern houses. For example, in the past the houses were being built by simple tools as well as simple materials which are not comparable to the current materials nor tools which will directly pour in increasing the house prices. Thus, the author shows un warranted assumption and a conclusion is rife with holes.

In conclusion, the argument as stands now is remarkably flawed, because the author reliance on unwarranted assumptions, and to make his argument and its conclusion vaild, shoud answer to all the mentioned questions first.