The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

This argument is rife of holes and unwarranted assumptions. It states that there are two big stores will be opened in suburb called Salem, depending on their plans in this opening in the median of the income, the population growth and families oriented. First of all, the author should answers the following questions about the the mean of the data distriputed regarding the incomes, and families numbers in the village,

Firstly, Namen store depends on unwarranted assumptions in opening a new branch in this mentioned subrub. Firstly, the author should answer, if is this the median is enough to determine the financial status for the suburb's families or not. We know that median is conserning for t the middle number of the distributed data in the (Bell-curve normal distribution) and doesn't care about the spread of the data. For example, if the median is $75,000, this doesn't guarantee that all the peopel there have the same income beacuse could be small numbers in the outers of the data set. Thus, it not an evidence to depend on and doesn't give the store's ower any indication about the buying-power in this suburb. Thus, if the above scenario is valid; that means the argument is considerably flawed.

Secondly, regarding the second store ( Roscoe) also depends on trivial assumptions and first should provid answer, if the dependimg on survey to determine how many families are there, and if they are interesting in spending their money in buying clothes as mentioned in the argument. In case of, the number of families are extremely small, in this case, this store will not the desired profits ar sales. In addition to, if the number of families are big enough; the author should answer if they are intereseting more in buying clothes, because sometimes in such suburbs, families don't care more about fashion or buying clothes; rather they are interested in buying foods and goods and that sort of things which represent sussistance requirements. Thus, if the above situation is accurate; that menas the drwan conclusion in the original argument is weakened and doesn't hold water.

In conlcusion, if the argument as it stands now; it is considerably flawed because its reliance on unwarranted assumptions and need first to answer the mentioned questions to be feasible to evaluate the argument effectively.