An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The argument at first glance seems logical becuAn international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet. ase it states a plausible way to combat vitamin A deficiency among people in Tagus. However, the justification of the recommendations lacks sufficient evidence and enough details.

Firstly, millet may very well be a staple food in Tagus, but whether people will adopt the new variety lacks substantial evidence. It is not clear whether this new variety tastes or looks the same as the original one, becuase this may impact whether people adopt it or not. Suppose, for example the millet changes its color to yellow after genetic engineering; in this case, people may steer away from buying and consuming the food, becuase they may not like how it looks. The same reasoning can be made if it tastes different from the original one.

Furthermore, it is stated that this new type of millet cost more. Even though the farmers willl be paid subsidies for it, it is not clear whether the price of it for the consumers will be the same or not. If the price increases, people may become less interested in buying the food and may look for an alternative cheaper food. On the other hand, if the price decreases, people may readily adopt this variety.

In conlcusion, since the argument lacks sound evidence whether people will readily adopt the new variety of millet, we can not justify the recommendation that the government of Tagus should promote it.