The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

The argument makes several assumptions about Seatown University from the study conducted at nearby Oceania University. Whether we can reach to a conclusion from such study remains largely ambiguous.

Firstly, the study conducted at Oceania University which showed that faculty retention is higher if the professors are offered free tuition for their college-aged children- might not be true for Seatown University. For example, the tuition of Oceania University might be very high whereas the tuition of Seatown University might not be low. In this case, the professors would not be as reluctant to pay the tuition for their children. Therefore, offering free tuition for the children of Seatown University's professors will not help with the faculty retention as much in this scenario.

Furthermore, it is not clear the actual faculty retention rate of both Oceania Unievrsity and Seatown University. Faculty retention rate of the latter might be better than the faculty retention rate of the former. In this case, offering free tuition will not be auspicious for Seatown University.

Finally, it remains vague whether offering free tuition was the only factor contributing to Oceania University's higher faculty rate. There might be benefits for the professors involved. It might be that the town nearby Oceania University become very well developed or the housing prices may have declined, so a large numbers of professors decided to move in to the town.

In conclusion, since the argument makes several of these unwarranted assumptions, it fails to bring a convincing case. it will not be prudent for Oceania University to make a decision based on the