Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

It is often encouraged in our society that young people should follow their dreams. How realistic such an advice is depends on how we envision our society should be. Nonetheless, everyone would agree that they want the best for their fututre generation and their society.

In today's world, the advice to young people "follow your dreams" has become very common and prevalent. The reason elderly people give this advice to younger generations is becuase they think this would be the best for these young people and the society. But we have to keep in mind the practicality of such an advice. Usually younger people are very naive with very limited knowledge of real world. Just telling them "follow your dreams" without giving them some idea of what result they should expect of such life choices, would not be prudent. Following the advice, one may wish to become something but then later on, they might find that such a decision might have been impractical.

Therefore, society should not tell its young people to just follow their dreams, but also tell them what consequences and hardships they might be face for it. This is not becuase people are selfish but becuase it would bring the best result. For example, one may become very interested in becoming a doctor. Before making the choice of choosing the profession, they should be told that they need to be studious and be very current with science and medicine thoroughout their career.

In conclusion, even if young people act selfishly, it may still bring a halcyon environment for the society. What younger people should be taught is that how practical and rational their dreams are and what impact such dreams can bring in their society.