An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet. Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Malnutrition is a severe condition observed in poverty stricken countries. this includes inadequate diet content which results in people suffering from deficiency of vitamins and minerals.Such a condition is prevalent in the impoverished nation of Tagus.In this country deficiency of vitamin A is observed amongst majority of the population.The deficiency of vitamin A impairs the immunity of the person affected and causes typical ocular defects including impaired vision and night blindness.

To tackle this malign issue , an international development organization have engineered a new breed of millet which is high in vitamin A.Manufacturing these genetically enhanced seeds is very costly.Even if the farmers are offered subsidies for the purchase of these seeds , its not exactly clear who will be providing these subsidies.The country of Tagus is already low on its economy and providing benefits to farmers in such case could worsen their economy.

Though millet is the staple food for the people of the country , it does not mean that millet should only be the food to be promoted for being vitamin A rich. other sources of vitamin A includes green leafy vegetables and yellow - orange vegetables which can be easily farmed.The government should also promote these sources of vitamins to cut the reliance on a single type of food ar grain. Adapting to these other sources of vitamin A doesn't mean millet should be avoided.being the routine diet of the residents the genetically enhanced millet should be promoted along with other vegetables and grains.

Further, the argument says that the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet. The country is already suffering from poverty and excessive efforts in promoting this breed of millet could backfire on the ministry.In addition to this , the exact amount of vitamin A in this new millet is not mentioned.If the irresolute amount of vitamin A is ingested it might cause chronic toxicity in the body.

In conclusion, the advancement in genetic engineering might be helpful till certain extent but public exposure should be avoided untill it is scientifically approved.Hence the suggestion that the government of the country should do everything in promotion of new breed of millet sounds disingenuous in essence of it being promoted only for the profit of the company manufacturing the millet.