The following is the memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers where concerned with our nations coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just cancelled there advertising contracts with us. Therefore in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing on any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager of a television station stated that the number of viewers have decreased due to the reduction in time alloted to weather forecast and local news and increase in time devoted to national news.The complaints that the station recieved, majority were concerned with the coverage of of weather and local news.

The business manager stated that the complaints recieved were majority regarding the coverage of weather and local news.The argument fails to specify the details regarding the complaints.it's not mentioned that the complaints were regarding the the reduction in time of the coverage or the quality of the coverage.

The second argument made is that the local businesses have cancelled their advertisng contract with the news station.it fails to provide the reason for the cancellation of the contract.it might be the case that the reason that the contarct was cancelled that the local businesses were suffering loss and could not afford to advertise on the news station.Or the advertising were not helping them make any money.

In the next argument ,the manager gives his solution to regain its lost viewers and the business advertisements,by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news back to normal. this dosen't work as there is no gurantee that restoring the time slots of weather forecast and local news will bring back the local businesses to advertise on the news program.Also it does't mean that the viewership will increase by doing so without gaining the trust of the viewers.The other case is that some viewers might be happy with reduced time alloted to the weather and local news as they prefer to watch national news.Resetting the alloted times slots back to normal might not sit well with these viewers.They might stop tuning in the news program and the news program loses viewers in this way as well.

Other factors such that knowing the exact number of viewers that has stopped watching the news program after the changed time slots might make it easier to make the decision of restoring the time devoted to weather and local news.

In conclusion,the manager lacks details to support his argument and the answers regarding the flaws mentioned above might provide a better vision towards the problem.