An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

There are multiple flaws in the given argument the major flaw is that it assumes that new breed of millers will remove the deficiency of vitamin A in the people of Tagus.The problem is that no information whether the millet will fulfill the daily requirements of vitamin A in a humans body.This assumption can be strengthened by providing more information regarding the amount of vitamin A in the millet and the required amount of vitamin A required to remove deficiency from the body.Hence we can determine the effectiveness of the solution provided.

There is another assumption that all farmers will agree to farming the new costly millet seeds because they are providing subsidies.The problem is that no information is given whether the subsidies covers the entire extra cost of the seeds as cost is an important factor for the farmers.It can be strengthened by giving information about the willingness of farmers to try the new seeds and the amount of subsidy given on the seeds.This will help evaluate the mindset of the farmers regarding the new seeds and their cost of production.

It is assumed that the staple of all in Tagus is millet but there is no information regarding their source is given.Hence we cannot tell whether the diet of the entire population consists of millet or not.This assumption can be strengthened by providing more information about the group of people on whom the survey was done and more information regarding the survey which has provided with such information.This will help us determine whether millet is actually the crop which feeds the mass of the country.

It is assumed that vitamin A deficiency can be only due to lack of minerals in their food but there could be other reasons such as lack of sunlight in the region which prevent the absorption of the vitamin A that is consumed by the body.This assumption can be strengthened by providing more information regarding the causes of vitamin A deficiency in the people in Tagus.

Hence it can be concluded that more information regarding the daily requirements of vitamin A ,the causes of the deficiency of vitamin A as well as information about the willingness of the farmers to grow the crop are the necessary information required to determine whether the recommendation is likely to get the predicted result.