Some people think that human needs for farmland, housing, and industry are more important than saving land for endangered animals. Do you agree or disagree with this point of view? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Humans always give more importance to their needs than those of other species on this planet.In my opinion, they certainly keep their need for land and resources at a higher priority than for the endangered animals. I feel this for two reasons which I will elaborate in the following essay.

First, land and houses have become a symbol of prosperity in our society. Humans have become greedy to acquire more wealth and keep themselves at a higher position than their competition. In doing so, they exploit land and animals for their materialistic profits. For example, my friend bought a piece of land in the outskirts of the city to build a farmhouse. When he visited the site he realized that it was a part of the natural habitat of a rare rabbit species that was local to that area. As the site was near an interstate highway it was a good deal. If it had not been for the rabbit habitat the property would be worth twice its current value.He decided to destroy the native rabbit population. Natives from that area protested against his activities but he still moved ahead with his plan of building his home there and destroyed the natural home of those rabbits. He was selfish to look at his own monetary gains and neglected the other species in that area.

Secondly, humans crave for attention and it is this habit that leads to them building factories and huge homes. Humans like to flaunt their wealth to each other. To gain this wealth and attention they exploit land from its precious minerals. The barren land cant produce crops anymore and hence affect the natural habitat of many species both plants and animals in that area.

Hence, we can say that the societal pressure of being wealthy and the need for attention have caused people to think for their needs for resources over the needs of other endangered animals.