An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument claims that the government of the Tagus is in order to combat Vitamin A doing everything so that they can promote a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. To support his view, the author gives reference to an international development organization, who suggested that the Vitamin A deficiency among people can be improved by using new breed of millet high in vitamin A.

To determine the validity of the argument, we must understand that whether by promoting and using the new breed of millet will able to improve or not the condition of Tagus where the deficiency of vitamin A is high in number.

First, the author mentions that a new breed of millet that is high in vitamin A will improvise the condition but failed to mention that whether it will effective to all the age groups or limit to certain age groups or whether the millet has any side-effect or not. If these questions were answered in the argument than it will make the argument stronger.

Secondly, the author mentioned that the cost of the seeds of a new type of millet is high, so the farmer will get subsidies for the same. But giving subsidies will not solve the problem, the farmer should be taught how to plant these seeds and what kind of environment should be favorable for them to grow. The author should also answer the question like whether the farmer will get the profit by doing the farming of this millet or not.

Finally, he mentioned that people will readily adopt the new variety without providing any data or surveys that will support his claim. There may be a chance that the people will find other sources that will help them to overcome the problem of Vitamin A and what if the price of this millet would be so high that the poor will not able to buy it.

In sum, the author's argument was based on the uncleared and unsubstantiated assumptions. In order to evaluate the merit of the argument, we required more information and data about the point mentioned in the argument. To make the argument stronger the author should outline the real reason behind why Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.