governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

The author of the statement claim that the governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear. Many of us will argue that it will hold all the time, while others will counter this by providing example. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the argument and will provide strong reasoning for the same.

Scientific research are very crucial for a country for their scientific and socail development. The money provided by the government to commit scientific research is increasing from past many years. And if someone recommend that the governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear, we have to ask three questions. One, how do we define unclear? Currently, there are no specific models to judge the extent to which certain projects are unclear, or whether we define it on the basis of the effects it pose on people, or other practical difficulties associated with it. . Stopping funding of any ongoing research projects on the grounds of eliminating as unclear will not prove wise enough. Thus, unless we develop a strategy to effectively divide scientific research into two broader categories of clear and unclear, effective and ineffective, we cannot decide which researches to grant aid and which not to.

Two, how do we foresee future consequences of an ongoing project? A project that is failing today might yield a substantial result tomorrow. That our world is lit today is a result of Edison’s failure of finding a suitable metal for the filament of the electric bulb; it was only after rejecting a thousand elements that he was able to fit tungsten. Thus, a better approach might always be taken, and who knows, by sheer serendipity, it might result in a world changing invention one day. Without a strategy to effectively assess what consequences ongoing scientific experiments can yield, it becomes unwise on the Government’s part to stop funding it. It is only after repeated failures when one succeeds in changing the way we live today.

Finally, who is responsible for taking the decisions on the Government’s part to judge whether a project is likely to yield commendable results or not? Is it the funding body, or senior scientists? It becomes highly impractical when experiments are judges on the basis of the results produced than focusing on the significance they hold for future. When Government stops funding researches, progress takes a toll. Withdrawal of funding impedes researchers from pursuing experiments, or may even intimidate them about future withdrawal of funds from their projects, thus jeopardizing careers. Possible discovery of newer horizons will reduce when more researchers give up on their studies, universities will suffer worldwide and pursuing a career in scientific discovery will gradually plummet. The only possible solution for selective funding is to undertake a study which categorizes researches undertaken over many years without significant impact to the scientific community, or maybe experiments which have proved to be misleading on the long run. Funding can be substantially reduced, and diverted to fields which hold greater impacts and more promising results.

Answering the following questions will help us decide on the allocation of funding for various researches. Instead of completely funding certain projects, the best possible solution for the Government in the long run calls for a wiser and smarter allocation of resources among all undergoing projects.