An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author argues that the new breed of millet high in vitamin A should promote by the government of Tagus to combat with its deficiency with providing the argument that event it is expensive, the farmer will be paid subsidies for farming and new variety will be a staple food because millet is already adopted by people is flawed. The author provides insufficient information about the cost of seeds and the amount of money for farming, also there is no mention of the actual quantity of vitamin A in a new variety. Furthermore, the author put millet and new variety in the same categories without mentioning their similar characteristics.

First, according to the author, the cost of seeds is high and the farmer will be provided extra money for farming. It is not mentioned that the cost of farming is the same or not as before, for example, the new variety might be required more amount of irrigation and fertilizers. The cost is not calculated. Moreover, the comparative cost value is not mentioned. The word "more'' is vague, whether it means slightly more or heavily more. The writer should mention all of these things in his/her argument so that it could be more convenient to take a decision.

Second, The new variety of millet contains high in vitamin A is not supported statistically. How much percentage greater in the amount of Vitamin A is contained in that variety of millet? Whether it is greater than another kind of breed? There is no comparative study with other kinds of the breed, neither the numerical value is mentioned. In this case, too, the author takes one-sided decision.

Furthermore, the author assumes that the new variety of millet will be adopted easily as the previous millet. But the author fails to give clear similarity between two kinds. However, he kept both in single categories, there is no any similar characteristics were mentioned. For example , they might same in color or not, whether they tase same or not etc. If the author could mentions their similarities it could be easy to do comparative study and take decision more effectively.

In conclusion, the author decision is completely bottomless, so more research should be done to corroborate the conclusion as mentioned above paragraphs.