An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The response to the deficient of Vitamin A in the Tagus shows that the author encourages the government of Tagus to promote what was discovered as the new breed of millet which is found to be high in Vitamin A. The evidence provided is that since millet is regarded has the staple food in the Tagus then the adoption rate is high. However, the encouragement relies on several assumption that needs to be questioned. Will international development organization not come about another solution which is more effective to give Vitamin A than the millet? and if they cannot, how about the cost of producing this millet? the conditions at which this millet is produced? also, seasonal availability of the millet.

Firstly, the author made a jump by encouraging government to invest in this particular millet neglecting that more research could arised which will be more effective. Perhaps, he felt investing on the millet foods first will go along way before realizing another development and, due to the staple of the millet foods in the community. Then, the government Tagus should promote the millet. However, this is not the case most times. The present sweetness might lead to future struggle. The International development organization should give the recommendation of which breed is better in Vitamin A. Even the Tagus might have the other type of millet which will be better than this new millet just gotten or the older one that has been existing might be a better option.

Another perspectives that the author seems to neglect is the seasonal appearance or conditions of every seeds germination. The cost of producing the seeds might be much as stated by the author. Also, the seasonal condition of the seeds is more paramount because, what is the essence of investment that eventually resulted to unused for the purpose. That is what will results if the seeds where planted at wrong time and investment started without this consideration.

Therefore, the author needs to take some consideration more insightful before encouraging the government of Tagus to invest on the new researched millet.