An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

To help the Vitamin A deficient people of Tagus we must understand the situation more closely. Based on the facts of the case it can be argued that the step taken by the government in providing subsidies is in the right direction towards alleviating the condition of the people of Tagus. But we must also account the fact that Tagus is an impoverished nation. People do not earn enough money that they can buy the seeds for this new variety of millet. Though providing subsidy will help in promoting the crop but we need to argue on some unanswered questions

1) Does the cultivation of new variety of millet is almost identical to the old variety. For e.g. does it require the same amount of water, can be grown in same weather, don't require additional inputs?

2) Are these engineered varieties more immune to attacks from pests and rodents? If so then how much pesticides should be given?

3) Has it been tested on the native people of Tagus? Has the research findings must be publicized by the government ?

4) If the farmer switches from the old millet to the new millet will his land be rendered useless by the new engineered variety to grow any other crop and hence will cease to be the will of the farmer?

5) Was there any side-effects manifested during the testing of the crops?

All of these questions are equally important to answer this will allow each stakeholder the proportionate information and importance that one must keep in mind. For e.g. the first question deals with the fact that the farmer may need to change the cultivation habits which incurs additional labor and farming costs. The second question deals with the isstue whether new farming practices are required to be incorporated or not. Such details will allow the farmer to take an informed decision.

Supposedly if the new variety renders the land useless for the growth of any other crop. Then the farmer is forced to grow only the engineered variety. This means that later if the organization providing this new breed decides to increase the money and the government is unable to subsidize the crops then the entire burden will fall on the farmers. The subsidy that the government provides is part of the revenue generated from the people of Tagus. So the gain in health and prosperity of Tagus due to subsidized millet must outweigh the loss due to subsidy. This can be based on a yearly statistics of the health benefits after the introduction of the new variety of crops.