Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

I disagree that shorter spans have created a environmemnt where people ability to choose from a plethora of options has improved. This can be argued on several grounds.

The first sentence itself points out the downside of mass media and internet. The short attention spans is detrimental to the ability of people especially the adolscent age group to understand and assimilate the deluge of information. Information has meaning only when it is processed and applied to our daily routine. The cupidity and eagerness with which we jump from one topic to another will not lead to grasping of the subject matter in hand. For example reading sports require less attention span compared to reading economics section as students(except those who have economics background) may not be conversant with the jargons of economics.

The second important downside is the difficulty of spawning new ideas with such short attention spans. Focus and intelligence are the primary requirements to generate new ideas. A mind bogged with only information cannot meditate on the subject with laser sharped focus. This argument can be challenged because several innovative ideas are coming from the present generation which also occupies the major chunk of the popualation who uses internet.

The second sentence argues that with increasing choices the ability to decide increases. However one cannot deny that increasing options also engenders a feeling of dissatisfaction in the consumer about the choices. The deluge of options confuses the consumer even when the selection may be about a trivial object. The market is flooded with various ranges of soaps, considering if one makes an informed decision it may take a inordinate time and leads to dissatisfaction even after the choice is decided.

Though one cannot dismiss the fact that an informed citizen is better than an ignorant individual. So the quality of decison making has significantly improved. Also the healthy competion between the retail owners and online market ensures that the market is fair and the consumer is not denied the ability to make choices on his own.

To conclude one can say internet is indeed a blessing for people who decide based on their judgement. But it is similar to various trappings of life when it is exessively used.