Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

I strongly oppose the claim that young people should place more emphasis on picking worthy goals and not what they dream about. This is because society cannot decide what constitutes as "worthy". For example a housewife's job may not be worthy in the eyes of a working mom. A soldier can disparage the work of a businessman because of his selfless devotion for the country. A doctor can belittle the work of an actor. The point is every individual has a role in society. The worthiness of any profession is difficult to determine due to its inherent subjectivity. The reason is even more preposterous as human beings are inherently selfish. Even philanthropy, an act that seems so selfless, can be called selfish as people feel good about themselves or in some cases project a good self to the public. Every person has the right to decide and perform what he/she thinks is worthy and not because some one thinks the person was selfish. Let us try to understand, what if a person pursues goals that seem worthy in the eyes of the society but not for the person himself. He may find it frustrating and may have to live a life in regret and animosity against the people who forced him in the first place. His self may never accept the worth of his job notwithstanding the importance perceived by the society. He may even be abysmal in the job itself. I believe people who reform the society are not the ones who pursue their dreams dictated by others rather they follow their heart. What if Steve Jobs questioned his decision to dropout based on the worthiness of his goal. Was he not selfish? Indeed he was but he revolutionized the computer industry by his selfishness. Was his achievement not worthy ? I think few could argue on that.

To conclude, young people must pursue their own goals and decide the worthiness of such goals.