People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

In my opinion people who take decisions based on emotions are indeed poor decision makers. Decisions should be based on sheer logic and cold rationals. Human elements such as emotions often veil the objective assessment of a situation. This can be better exemplified with the example of a doctor. A doctor is expected to operate on a patient who may or may not be associated with him. His decisions should be solely a function of his reason and medical logic. If he/she deviates from this medical practice it may lead to unwarranted medical conditions. The health of the individual cannot be wasted due to his emotional upheaval. Similarly one can think of a soldier who is commanding an army. He cannot live with the delusion that his decisions can be based on his/her fancy. The point here is, positions of commands demands leaders who can keep their personal emotions aside and take decisions that are appropriate and logical.

The emotional reaction of a person can stem from various factors such as prejudice against a person, love or feeling of superiority. Thus it is very difficult to justify such decision. To further elaborate on my point if a decision is solely based on emotions stored inside the recesses of a human mind, he/she is bound to put his/her self-interest over the group. His thinking is narrowed due to his personal inclinations or disinclination.To rationalize such thoughts is nothing but a failed attempt on the part of the individual to convince his own self what he did was right and not out of personal vendetta.

But again one must realize that to err is human. Human beings are bound to get their decisions flawed and attach to emotions. But it may be at a very high cost. A death penalty conferred to a criminal by a judge based on emotional grounds though can be justified later but we risk the loss of a human life.

It is imperative to understand that decisions should only be based on facts and emotions must ever creep into logical conclusions.