An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author's places an argument that to combat Vitamin A deficiency in Tagus, government of the nation should do everything to promote the new breed millet, rich in vitamin A among its people. He further supports his argument by saying that millet is already a staple food for people of Tagus so they can easily adopt it. There are many unanswered questions or assumptions made by author in arriving at above argument which makes the overall argument weak. Let us see those questions in below discussions

Firstly, the new breed millet is artificially made, may be through genetic crossovers so it might have side effects to those who eat this food. The author failed to provide information on these and also why the organization did not recommend other staple foods which are rich in vitamin A and why to cultivate a new variety of millet.It might be possible that the organisation is focussed on improving their business in selling new variety millet seeds.

Secondly, the author says farmers will be paid subsidies for farming as the seeds are of high cost but he fails to explain if there are favourable soil,water conditions available for farming this type of millet in Tagus. There are possibilities that fertility of soil might get affected on farming the new variety of millet.

Even if we consider that favourable conditions exists for farming, since the seeds itself are high in price how can people of an impoverished nation will be able to afford in buying this millet to eat? . It won't be possible for them to buy the food and people adopting to the food won't be feasible.

Finally, if the author has addressed the questions mentioned above then it would make sense for the government to promote the new breed of millet. Since he didn' t address these questions it consipicuously makes the argument weak and unconvincing.