People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

What is attitude ? It is the way in which we think, feel about things which largely influence our decisions. so, we can unquestionably say "Attitude is Everything". Our attitude mainly takes shape from things which closely interact with us. So, I agree with the statement that one's attitude is determined more by our immediate surroundings or situation rather than society as a whole.

The environment or surroundings around us largely determine the way in which we perceive things and our response. A newly born child even though carry external traits of their parents genetically but his/her attitude develops based on people or things with whom he/she interacts. A child born in a criminal surrounding or surrounding which does not follow moral standards will develop more or less possess negative attitude and will grow to be a bad person. so things or people around us or with whom our interaction is more will have a immense effect on our attitude.

The statement or saying ,situation shows the real face of a person is largely true. A person who is in a stressful situation will show an annoying or negative attitude towards people. We can also see a person who lost his wife in a recent accident will have a negative attitude towards life and will also feel like commiting suicide.So the situations also predominantly affect our attitude.

We simply cannot ignore the role of society as a whole in few cases. For example Nowadays gay marriages are accepted, this is largely due to government policies and acceptance of the society. Even when people of past society who are in our immediate surroundings try to influence our attitude people are moving from a state of neglectance to acceptance. In these cases we cannot deny the role of society as a whole.

To conclude, the way in which we see things predominantly depends on our surroundings and our immediate situation. Our society should create a good surrounding or situation for our people to develop a positive attitude.