many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. however, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculation, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

The statement feels to be true at first but the author has made many assumptions for which he has not given any strong proofs and neither has the author considered other factors like cost , effectiveness and also the chances that the flu would relapse.

First assumption that the author makes is that many life might be saved if inoculations were routinely administered to all the people. The author should have specified the severity of cow flu. And routine administration of all the residents of the area where flu is detected is not a logical approach considering that there is no proof of getting a positive result.The author could have provided the statistics of the people save by this approach which would have helped to strengthen or weaken the argument.

Furthermore the author mentions the possibilities of fatality as a result of inoculation, but fails to mention the ratio to fatalities due to flu to that due to inoculation. What if the fatalities caused by inoculations outnumbers fatalities caused by flu ? then there would be no discussion of considering the idea of inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

The mentioned assumptions by the author but because no proof of examples to bolster the claim this arguments have no legs to stand .