"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company tends to bridge a strong positive correlation between Easy Reading-Speed Reading course and increase in productivity. The conclusion is based on the premises that, some employee showed positive productivity after graduating of that course. But on deeper analysis, it is evident that, the examples provided in the statement, are not enough cogent because of lack of information and many important questions are unanswered regarding some assumptions, and that is why, the recommendation failed to be a persuasive one.

One such flaw is that, the recommendation says that, one graduate of the course was able to read 500-page report in only two hour, but the question is that, what type of information was in that report and how much time it required to read the report before the course was taken? Without these information, the author can not definitely assert that the course improved their productivity because several situations can arise, which can also contribute to that above mentioned productivity. Moreover, the author of the recommendation did not clearly stated, whether that reading rate was more than the actual rate. Situations like, the 500 page report only contains a small informative portion, wheres most of the report contains irrelevant data and statistics. So, the author of the argument can benefit from providing more information regarding the questions, to make his argument more trustworthy.

Another flaw in the recommendation is that, it says, one graduate rose from assistant manager to vice president of the company within one year, but again fails to provide answer of some factual question regarding it. For instance, what was the employee credential?, what specific benefits he got from the course that can be specifically attributed to the course? Within the last one year, what specific achievement influenced the organization to rise him to such an important position? Without knowing those questions answer, we can not specifically attribute his success to that course solely. We can not avoid the fact that, the person can be the son of the chairman and if so, it is not that much needed for him to go to a higher position without any increased productivity, as one day he will take over the company after his father retirement. So, answering those questions will strengthen the authors recommendation further.

Similarly, the statement says that there are some other benefits like, free three week seminar and lifelong subscription to the East Read newsletter, but again fails to specify, what type of benefits is the company getting through service. Without knowing those information, how we can conclude that, the program is really bringing good and thus should be embraced by the company and it's employees?

To conclude, the recommendation lacks information and seems to provide incipient assumptions. The conclusion of the statement is based on some unverified assumptions and includes logical flaw. The author should have presented more concrete evidences and logical information to render the argument more cogent.