"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read

Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was

able to read a five-hundred-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an

assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you

can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read

costs only $500 per employee---a small price to pay when you consider the benefits to Acme.

Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the

Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to

take the Easy Read course."

In these memo, the author of the Acme Publishing Company claims that Acme would benefit all of their employee to take the Easy Read Course to speed of their performance and the course costs only $500 per employee for three week periods. To bolster the claim, the author cites the following facts about Acme Company: (1) one graduate of the course was able to read a five hundred page report in only two hours (2) another graduate rose from an assistant manager to the vice president of the company under a year. Close scrutiny of each of these facts however reveals that none of them lends no credible evidence to support the claim.

First, the argument readily assumes that taking Acme Publishing Company English Course will speed of the employee performance, which in turn increase the productivity of the whole company. If this is the case, then every employee will enhance their reading skills up to the acme level. Only considering the speed reading technique does not fully endorse the performance of employee. Before considering such approach, the initial background and base of the students should be accounted. The reason behind such consideration is that students with goad base in education side may simply cope up with course offered by the company. Thus, the argument fails to mention the appropriate criteria of employee regarding their initial framework.

Secondly, the argument could have been much clearer if the company mention the particular skills provided to the students to enhance their reading skills. Moreover, what sort of tutor they provided to the students are also lacking behind the information provided in the given argument. Therefore, considering the achievement of few students regarding the verbal skills doesn't match with the performance of all the students. Therefore, the argument remains obscure and dubious and doesn't lends sufficient viable evidence to buttress the claim.

Finally, the argument fails to mention one of the key factors on the basis of which it could have been evaluated, only providing the success story of single employee doesn't compensate the success of all employees. Therefore, several success story of different employee should be rendered so that other employee will be motivated enough to take such courses. Therefore, the whole argument remains unsubstantiated and become open to debate.

To sum up, the argument relies on dubious assumption that renders unconvincing as it stands. To bolster the claim, the author should provide clear evidence perhaps by a local study or survey; numerous teaching methods should be mentioned so as to allure employee to take such course, different success stories should be disseminated so as to motivate the employee and what sort of other services are lacking to motivate employee should be checked.