A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

"We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced asssistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don't get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In a memo directed to the head of studio, the movie producer requested for an increase in funding for a partiuclar title based on the evidence that the director of the movie, being a first time director is inexperienced. He also claimed that the cost reduction on employing inexperienced assistant will be offset by the need to pay overtime for other member of the crew. While the movie producer conclusion might hold water, it certainly relied on the following three unwarranted assumptions, which if not properly addressed may significantly weaken the request made by the producer.

First of all, the movie producer assumed that because the director is directing his first movie, his experience in diirecting commercials will informed his decision in a negative direction to directing a movie. What if the director have undergone a significant training on directing a movie prior to accepring the job offer, certainly, this will inform his plan in directing the Working Title and thus save resources from excessive wastage. it is also possible that, while this may be the first movie director will spearhead, he may have hard ample opportunities to serve as an assistant director on other major movie productions. If the above scenarios were to prove through, then the conclusion of the movie producer will be significantly weakened.

Secondly, the producer also wrongly assumed that the arrangement of sets may result in extra time from the movie assistants and thus result in extra cost incured. Perhaps the set arrangement would have been preset before the actors arrived and hence no delayed shooting of the film will be incur. It is also possible that the scene to be shoot only requires real life settings of which no significant arrangement will be required. In such a scenarios, the assistant may only need to focus on preparing the actors for their lines and even facilitate and expedite things beyond what the producer envisage. If the instances above were to hold true, then the producers request will be significantly weakened.

Finally, even if the above scennarios were to be proven false, the producer unjustifiedly assumed that the ten percent increase will be enough to underwrite the excess of the movie director. Perhaps, the director is so used to profligate spending that double the extra may not even be sufficient for the wastage. It may be possible that the assistants will even require more time to prepare the set thereby resulting in wastage. if this were to be true then definitely the movie producer will be blame and his assertion significantly altered.

In conclusion, while the Movie Producer request might hold water, it relies on unjustified assumptions in making such request and as such, render the argument significantly weakened. If the producer can include more evidence which substantiates his request in the memo, if he his able to support the assumptions above with a cogent evidence, then the request can be properly evaluated.