A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument makes an assertion that the recalled dog food do not need further evaluation based on the evidence that the chemicals found in tested samples of the food conforms with the approved standard and therefore may not be responsible for the side effects seen in the affected dogs. however, this arguement is significantly flawed as the author unjustifiedly comes to conclusion based on the following unwarranted assumptions.

First of all, the author unwarrantedly assume that because the chemicals in the food conforms with the approved standard it wouldnt have caused the experienced side effect on the dogs. Perhaps this chemicals have significantly being dilluted or in a concentration level that proves harmful to the internal organs of the dogs their by causing the vomiting and other illness. it is possible that this chemicals may have been contaminated with another chemical substance that is harmful to the dogs internal digestive systems. therefore if this situation were to be true, then certainly testing the food samples for the chemicals may not reveal this tendencies and therefore weakens the stand of the argument

Further, if it were to true that the conformity of the tested samples with the approve standard exonerate the food samples, the author also unjustifiably assumes that the tested samples of the sold products is indicative of the overall state of other food samples. it is possible that the method of sampling is not scientifically guided and a particular batch were solely tested for chemical analysis. Perhaps the tested samples are produced under different condition than the majority of the samples, or they would not even be part of the batch that may have caused the food poisoning. if this were to be true, then the result of the experiment will seriously be skewed and the recommendation of the author misguided.

Further more, even if the first two cases above were to be appropriately justified, that the author implicitly assumes that testing method mimic the digestive metabolism of the dogs internal system. it assumes that perhaps the mode of digestion that may have occurred in the dog is similar to the testing method carried out on the samples. Probably, this is not true, perhaps a combination of two different approved chemical, individually harmless but which may prove fatal to the dog internal digestive system thereby causing the experienced sickness. if this situation were to be true, then definitely the arguments holds no water and thus renders the conclusion unwarranted.

in conclusion, the argument as it stands is rife with unjustified and unwarranted assumptions and conclusion is wrongly drawn. More questions are needed to be answered and a further scientifically backed evidence is required to back up the argument and only after then can the argument be adequately evaluated.