Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The given argument arrives at the general conclusion that the central plaza business is decreased due to the increased number of skateboard users in the plaza and the increased amount of litter and vandalism. though the author claims cogent at first, this argument flawed with numerous loopholes and unwarranted assumptions. therefore, to strengthen the argument three questions need to be answered.

First, the author states that in the past two years the number of shoppers in central plaza decreased. However, is this decrease business in central plaza is because of the dramatic increase in skateboards? It is possible that there are many other reasons to decreased business in the central plaza. It can be caused by introducing new plaza in that area or products provided by the stores in the central plaza was not in good condition or central plaza stores increased the price of products in the last two years. The argument does not give any evidence to prove that the lack of shoppers in the plaza is because of skateboarding and therefore before concluding the fact owners of central plaza should analyze the fact through the survey or a poll.

Secondly, the argument state that there was a dramatic increase in litter and vandalism. But, any ware in the argument does not mention that this is because of the skateboarding population. Is there any evidence to prove that theses litter and vandalism acts caused by skateboarders? Without providing witnesses argument cannot come up with the conclusion that the banned of skateboarding will decrease litter and vandalism from the plaza. Furthermore, there is a possibility that increased in litter and vandalism is because of some third party and because of that customer in central plaza does not willing to come to this place. Therefore, before suggesting the recommendation central plaza owners can check CCTV cameras or find any other evidenced to confirm the wrongdoing.

Thirdly, the author links increase in skateboarding population with the decrease in business in the plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited in the plaza what are the possible effects that would happen? It is not clear that the reason for the decrease in sales in the plaza. It is possible that skateboarders choose this place because of the lack of customers inside the central plaza. And also, since there is a huge number of skateboarders coming to this place central plaza stores have some business because of these skateboarders buy products from stores. If the company recommended banning these customers as well, they may face more reduction in customers.

In conclusion, the logical flow of the argument suffers from several weak points including a lack of evidence and unwarranted assumptions. therefore, the author needs to answer the above questions before deciding to prohibit skateboarding in the central plaza. though it is unclear whether the answers for these questions would support or weaken the claim it will improve the rigour of the conclusion.