Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

The argument above claims that the in the past two years there have been a steady decline in the number of shoopers in Central Plaza and the reason of this decline is the popularity of skateboarding which has increasing dramatically. Although the above points and facts taken together appear to be true but connection between these pieces is shaky.

Much of the reasoning that author uses is filmsy and illogically reasoned. The argument above states that "Number of shoppers have been decreasing as the popularity of skateboarding is increasing". First of all we have no clue for the source of this statistic hence it can't be trusted to be a true source of information. Moreover, it cannot be included from this argument as how is the popularity of skateboarding responsible for the decline of shopper as there can be many other strong reasons completely contradicting this fact like it might be due to deteriotion of quality of products that had led to this decline. Also it has't been cited anywhere that who are the people who used to do shopping earlier and now to skateboarding left it. A case can be thought of where in the people who are engaged in these two activities are of different age groups as well as different gender.

In the next argument where author mentions that owners belive it is the number of skateboarders who have led to decline in their business there is no piece of information given that can verify this piece of information, it can be completely concluded on the basis of there assumption instead of any survey. One scenario for this decline can be that the shoppers might have find out much reliable source of shopping than central plaza where they can get good quality products at cheap price. There is no proof that the people who have been shopping earlier have engaged into skateboarding. What if only 10% of shoppers have engaged into shopping? What if the people doing shopping earlier from plaza now shifted to online ordering? What if the popularity of skateboarding has only gained hype in the age group of young children and teenagers who are not into shopping from the past time? Because the author doesn't account for these discrepancies, he reader cannot assume that the reason stated is completey true and trustworthy.

Another fact which weakens the above mentioned argument is that skateboarding has led to increase in the amount of litter and vandalism in plaza but it is quite possible that skateboarding isn't the only reason behind this there can be many other viable reasons for the same like it might be the shoppers or the people working at plaza who litter the premises of the plaza. Besides this damage of property can't be directly linked to skateboarding as in most of the area skateboarding is prohibited inside the property accessible to public due to fact somebody might get hurt. There are seperate parks and place for such recreational activities. Damage of property can also be due to the degrading quality of it in propotion to time. Therefore it can't be completely blamed upon the fact that skateboarding is resposible for this.

Overall this argument is not completely reasoned. The argument seems biased towards the shopowners of plaza and the word choice is more applealing to emotion instead of logic. Additionally, the argument does not consider alternative viewpoints, further weakening its position. Finally the evidence presented in the argument weakens its credibility as author does't cite a source to verify its validity. The logical conclusion could be to come up with ways where in the sale of central plaza can be boosted in order to prevent the losses they are currently facing and to find out the actual root cause which has led to such an outcome by performing survey and gathering data from the skateboarder and shoppers to compare them and conclude the right fact. If an argument addresses all the above mentioned issues it would more stronger than the one given.