"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the statement, the business manager argues that the television station should expand the coverage of weather and local news in order to attract more viewers and to prevent losing even more advertising revenues. To bolster this, the author cites the complaints from viewers about the station’s coverage and the canceled advertising contracts. however, this argument is tenuous in several aspects.

The manager mentions that last year there were complaints about the reduced time devote to weather and local news. however, there is a hidden assumption that the situation will remain the same this year. it is possible that this year an increasing number of viewers start to have more interests in national news. also the manager unfairly assumes that the opinions received from those viewers are representative for the general population. it is possible that the survey only covered a small population.

it is also stated by the manager that local businesses that used to advertise during the late-night news program have canceled their contracts with the television station. Nevertheless, the manager unreasonably attribute this result to the increased coverage for national news; there might be other factors that caused the advertising contracts to stop. it is possible that the station charge expensively for companies to advertise during the news program time and only offer them a very short advertising time. it is also possible that those business do not want to invest on tv advertising anymore since it didn't improve their sales significantly.

The manager recommends to extend their coverage for weather and local news on all of their news programs. however, the manager is being over-confident and unjustifiably assume that this change will lead to a higher amount of viewers and maintain their revenues gained from advertising contracts. it is possible there are other competing television stations that attract viewers away because their ways of present the local news and weather are more absorbing. Moreover, the manager is making a false analogy that the situation happened for their late-night-news programs is representative for all the other news programs. Perhaps, the viewers of other news program prefer to watch more national news.

In sum, the manager’s statement is logically flawed and the evidence used are also groundless. Before making any suggestions to any changes, the manager should conduct a deep and comprehensive survey about the viewers preference. also, he should consider the possible differences and similarities between all of their news programs.