"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The statement given by the author depicts that increasing the time devoted for National news by compromising on the time given for local and weather news has led to unsatisfied viewers and also a reduction in the revenue due to advertisers rolling out of the contract. Though the author's claim superficially seems to be valid, it does have a few loopholes. Hence the claim might not be self-sustainable to hold the argument. I am substantiating my claim about the author's insufficient detail in paragraphs to come.

Firstly, the author mentions that most of the complaints received were concerned about the station not covering weather and local news. This evidence is incomplete without having the numbers from the past. In the past when the station used to broadcast local and weather news, what was the number of complaints received showing concern about lack of National news? Is the number more than the current complain count? That would help in understanding the viewer base. Are more viewers interested in National News or in Local and Weather news? What is the population the station must be aiming at and What should the strategy be to satisfy the majority of the viewers? These questions can be answered precisely by meticulously analyzing the data from the past and present, hence building a safe roadmap for the future.

Secondly, there is a concern which the author raises about the canceling of advertising contracts by local businesses. This statement is very misleading as it does not mention the exact reason behind the behind stepping back. It is an assumption of the station that the advertisers rolled back because the station gave more priority to National News. But how accurate is this assumption? It is equally possible to have other reasons behind this step taken by the local businesses. For example, the station would have failed to dedicate enough time for advertisements during the news hour, or maybe the contract between the station and local businesses had lapsed for the year. We are unsure of the reason here. So it is not safe to assume that it is because of the National News broadcast. A discussion with the local businesses would help them understand the issue.

Thirdly, the author assumes that he would get back the advertising revenue if he executes his plan of broadcasting local and weather news in the late-night news. This again is a wild guess. Not being aware of the reason behind these advertisers stepped back, it is not wise to take any steps to get them back without consulting them.

Though the concern of the author is valid, and he aims to find a solution to the issue cause, if the above reasons turn out valid, and the assumptions of the author end up faulty, it would cause more harm to the station then doing good. Hence this statement of the author is not sufficient an evidence for the claim he makes. Researching more on these reasons would guide him in the right direction.