Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The human diet has evolved a lot from prehistoric to modern times. The author of the prompt assumes that early humans (prehistoric) had knowledge about foods that make us healthier and less prone to diseases. The author also supplies anecdotal evidence to prove his or her point.

It has been pointed out by many skeptics that other than strong anecdotal pieces of evidence, we have no research to prove that paleo diets are if in fact actually healthier. Many people following the paleo diet claim that drinking bone broth has many healthy nutrients such as cartilage which heals human joints and promotes nerve regeneration. Still, they have nothing more than anecdotal evidence to prove their point. As long as we don't have proper medical research in people that follow this diet, we have to remain skeptic.

The author of the prompt also states that due to the above fact, the ancient prehistoric human knew more about human physiology than modern medicine which is a hard pill to swallow. Moreover, there is no medical research done on whether this diet can cure chronic illnesses. Also, it is assumed that by following what the hominids ate we could remain healthier. But this gives rise to a grave problem. Modern science has proved that the approximate age up to which hominids lived was about 40-50 years while the modern man has a life span of about 60-70 years. So if the ancient humans knew more about the human physiology than the modern man, then why did they have a higher rate of mortality. Also what if these prehistoric humans just ate bone broth as a convenient dinner than as a way to stay healthy. We have to remember here that prehistoric man was yet to discover agriculture as a way to conveniently grow food.

By examing the assumptions made in the argument and on noticing the fact that there is no hard evidence to support their claims we can say that prehistoric humans most likely ate bone broth as a convenient supper rather than due to its medical properties.