Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

University curriculum is one of the most important aspects of undergraduate and graduate education. It determines what courses a particular student will take which in turn will determine the knowledge a student will possess when he graduates. Some courses are vital for student development even though they might not be the most sought after courses. The author of the prompt states that students should only take courses that interest them, which is a very one-sided statement. I personally believe that universities should make certain courses mandatory and also give students some flexibility in selecting courses that they have an affinity towards.

Some courses like Computer programming require certain prerequisites like calculus and linear algebra. So all students pursuing programming should be mandatorily made to take these prerequisite courses even if a particular student is not willing to take these courses. This way, the student can easily understand what is being taught in higher-level Computer science courses like Data structure and object-oriented programming.

Certain humanities courses like psychology and philosophy are very important for the holistic development of the student, even though students pursuing STEM subjects are generally not interested in such courses. In such cases, universities should make it mandatory for students to take certain credits for humanities coursework. This results in the all-round development of the students.

In conclusion, we can say that universities should give some flexibility to students while selecting humanities coursework but make sure that students complete certain mandatory courses. Also, universities should give electives options to students to pursue courses that lie outside of the domain of their major but are interested in pursuing. This will ensure the all-round development of students graduating and make them responsible citizens.