Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

A good leader needs to have many qualities that he or she will in cultivate among their followers and peers alike. Important characteristics of good leaders include the ability to make sound judgements while including everyone's viewpoint and the ability to command respect from peers. The author of the prompt states that sound moral judgement is not as important as commanding respect from peers which I disagree with. The reasons for disagreement are specified in the following paragraphs.

A good leader sometimes has to make decisions that not everyone in the group agrees with. This implies that they sometimes lose the respect of some of their peers. Even in such scenarios, a good leader is one who thinks of the long term benefits of their decision and uses their moral compass to access the repercussions of their decisions. They understand the fact that sound moral judgements are more important than pleasing everyone and that in most cases a certain subset of their entourage will be upset with them for the decisions they make. They understand the fact that they cannot please everyone always and that sometimes hard decisions need to be taken.

Although for a leader, the respect he or she commands from the group is very indicator of their leadership skills, it is just a litmus test and not the only criteria, while making sound judgements is in fact much more important. A leader can fail in commanding respect from peers by making certain hard decisions cause the peers just see the short term implications of the decisions while a leader has to see both the short term as well as the long term effects of their judgements. A good leader is one who manages to balance both the things simultaneously but gives more importance to making sound moral decisions.

In conclusion, we can say that a good leader is one who commands the respect of his or her peers but also makes sound moral judgements and in fact is not afraid to upset his peers if he feels in his or her conscience that some hard decisions need to be taken.