A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this statement, a complaint against a pet food company is made by consumers of pet food. Firstly, it was the thought the consumed pet food was responsible for the pets vomiting, lethargy, and signs of illness but when the company tested the 4 million pounds of pet food by recalling them, they found all the recalling pet food contain the chemicals which are approved by for the use for pet food. But this test is flawed in some ways.

Firstly, By recalling a huge amount of pet food does not necessarily depicts the exact food's condition which was consumed by the pets. On a particular day, the pet food can be contaminated with toxic materials but that does not mean recalling foods have the same toxic materials and the will depict similarly the same food the pets have consumed before getting sick.

Secondly, although the tested recalling foods were approved for the use of pet food, there is a necessity of testing their expiration dates and their mixture amounts. For example, a slightly higher amount of mixture of methanol than the approved amount with ethanol can produce deadly toxins rather than wine. Besides that, an expired chemical can become toxic material. And for addressing this issues the company should devote further resources to the investigation the pet food expiration date and their mixture amount validity.

Thirdly, the pets can be sic for other reasons also so the company should invest further resources to determine the exact factor which is responsible for the sickness of pets.

Fourthly, among the 4 million food testing only a few samples do not produce the exact scenario of the pet foods. For this reason, a substantial amount of pet foods should be tested to determine whether the pet foods are contaminated by the toxic material or not, whether their mixture amount was exact or not, whether their samples were enough or not to produce exact scenario.