A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument made by the author on not investing anymore resources to investigate the cause is flawed and is totally unwarranted. Four million pounds of pet food sold by the company definitely reached a large number of pet owners, who might have been feeding it to the pets. It's the social responsibility of any company to give continuous support to its consumers. Also, not to mention, a company that sells such large amount of pet food has it's own existence at stake.

The assumption made here is that, since the food comprises of the allowed components, it's not the reason for the illness. It's never mentioned that the combination of food may create such issues. To check if the pet owners were giving anything alongside the pet food, would have given a better picture. Such concoction of different foods could be lethal to any living beings. We have examples of food poisoning and even drug combinations to be fatal to humans. The author fails to consider the fact that it could be water contamination that's behind such illness. Humans could be capable of withstanding the intake of certain amount of chlorinated water, while pets might be susceptible to such illness. Even the weather could be a reason to such sickness, or the rise of certain bacterial infection or some kind of virus, or even the pollen flying around in a particular season. We know such instances of aviary virus causing epidemics in certain areas. Yet again, the author doesn't mention the demographics of the occurrence of the illness. It might have been local to a certain region; recalling 4 million pounds of food for an incidence which is contained in a city may be bad for the company, if the food recalled is from all of it's customers. Investing more on figuring out the cause is tantamount to the benefit to the pets and the owners and the business.

The author doesn't consider the ethics behind the continuity of the investigation. Just because it's pet food, doesn't mean the business can turn to other more important things. Every life is important and if anyone has involvement in impacting any life, one has to be more responsible. Worth mentioning, if such incident continues to occur due to the negligence of the company, it may soon be slapped by lawsuit by the consumers for failing to declare the nuances of the usability of the pet food. Eventually, it'll lead the company to it's doomsday.

Hence, considering all such aspects in the statement would have bolstered it as an argument and helped to maintain a strong ground on it's veracity and dependability.