Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

For any society to thrive, business, politics, education and government has to work in unison and bettering the processes in each of these constituents should be the goal to better the lives of the citizen. Better the working of these pillers, better the society as a whole. Mismanagement in any system will create chaos and will hamper the other processes in their smooth executions. It's very important that to maintain the stability of any of these enterprises, those in power steps down to usher in new changes and new ideas with the new person taking the chair.

Five years of time is a good enough time for any candidate to bring fruitful change to the processes to make it better and proceed it to a better stage. With renewal of terms or reelecting the same person reflects clinging on to the same expectations and the aversion to new changes. For any society to progress, it's important to continuously progress towards the future and bring new changes that better the lives of the citizen. Any stagnating society cannot sustain the future growth and expectations of its people. Those in power has to have the virtues, vigor and ethics to support the growth of the system. With continuous terms, the same work may drain the energy of the persons in power, there by, making the system loose enthusiasm to progress in new directions. It's worth mentioning that doesn't matter what, every mind needs implementation of newer ideas to keep interest in whatever they are doing. If the enterprise has limitations on its resources, the same mind may see the work as repetitive and get bogged down by the similar work and thus demotivate the whole organisation. Say, for example, the CEO of a business has the background of agriculture and is very imaginative in his ideas to incorporate newer processes to better the produce, but for the business to continue to grow, it has to maintain the supply chain and warehouse management, the dynamics of the market and demands in the year around and not to mention tech savvyness. Now, considering the penetration of technology in every aspect of life, if the head of an organisation prefers to maintain the old school methods, the business will not be able to survive the competetion feom its peers. It needs a fresh mind to usher in changes to bring new ideas and processes to grow the business.

Also, the same person holding the power may bring unethical practices in the organization. We know power is something that diverts most mind, if not all. To keep the systems in check from such misappropriation, thus, change in power is needed or at the least, alternating the persons holding the power of execution. Such examples are rampant in the political systems, where any person staying in power for more that five years, has been seen to drag the system down to lesser productivity. Every person has different political inclination and it's not possible to address every such expectation, but alternating powers maintain the balance in the society. Every ideology in a politica system has it's own propaganda which reflects some citizens view and expectations. Thus rotation in the power would address the issues that might have been ignored by the other political party. Although, it's necessary that statesmanship should be beyond politics, beyond color, creed, ethnicity, but the reality is far from the ideal. Hence such a change in power is a mandate for a florishing society.

Another point to mention is that, even if a person is doing good to the system, there will always be some idea or an individual who can make the process even better. Forwarding the baton to better the organization requires someone with such enthusiasm and vigor to continue to run with the zeal. Reimagin‌ing the education system to provide for the nascent minds, need fresh ideas and the one who is in command to bring such a change should have the freshness in such ideas, doesn't matter if the changes are radical. Not all radical ideas are bad; Any new change that alters the system and leaps it forward can be called radical and is alwasy a need to step ahead to the future.

Although, sometimes there might not be such candidature after one's five year tenure to replace one in power and in such a case such exception to continue with the same person is necessary rather than replacing the leadership with an inefficient person. Such a cases calls for not so hard and fast rule, so that the system is flexible enough to maintain its status quo and doesn't deteriorate if it lack ideas to grow ahead.

Hence, the reason is definitely in agreement with the claim and has my support to bring new leadership every five years keeping in mind that, it should be flexible to continue with the same leadership if it needs so. Such a judgement requires the board to have the credibility, ethics and magnanimity to choose a leader among themselves, if it's not the common people who are the ones choosing the leader among the leadership.