Young minds should be guided to achieve worthy goals, as goals are inherently selfish.

We, human beings are goal driven. We live by hope to attain some goal in life. Thus bringing fulfillment to our heart and mind. To cherish such achievements, there has to be some gain in spirituality or it has to be materialistic. Whatever be it, every mind sets apart some goals, some dreams. And because of its self-fulfillment nature, it's somewhat selfish in nature - or is it? Again it circles back to the human nature of being goal driven. Everyone has a dream, a goal. Or at least everyone should be. If there's no purpose or goal, every mind is susceptible to negativity, evil-doing. So the emphasis should be on guiding a young mind to figure out the dreams and to dream about a good dream and pursue until attained, rather than waiting to dream a worthy dream.

Goal never remains the same for any individual. Particularly, for the young people, the mind is always in a disruptive mode, bringing radically divergent ideas; ideas that can curb the rules, ideas that can bring about exceptional change in our life. To guide such minds would be to hinder the ideas, to nip it in the bud. If gallileo were to follow the worthy goals set forth by the so called relics, we would still believe the sun rotating the earth. Elon Musk would work on bettering the internal combustion engine, instead of making an electric car that would prove it's point against the naysayers.

Also, it's worthy to note that no one ever continues to chase one goal. Goal changes as time passes. Something that's worthy today may not be worthy tomorrow. All that will remain is the sanguine mind brimming with confidence, that it did follow it's dream, no matter what. That itself will bolster the young minds to find a worthier goal and chase for it.