The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument on faculty retention, solely based on the tuition waver to its professors, is flawed and fails consider other reasons that might have affected the conclusion. Faculty retention depends on many aspects, the one mentioned, highlights just one such point, if at all has any real relevance.

To begin with, the argument doesn't mention about the retention rate among younger professors and the older ones. As a human nature, once we grow older, we look for more stable profession, since, everyone tends to maintain a balance between family and profession. While in case of younger generation, professional growth takes more precedence, most of the time. Any indication on the age group under the survey would have given a better perspective and base to the argument.

Secondly, there has not been a mention of the compensation that's given to the professors of the two universities. If Oceania University has a higher compensation, that would make a strong reason as to why there's a higher retention rate. In that case, no free-tuition would be a misattribution to decide higher attrition rate.

Again, amenities provided by an university, academic achievements, performance in sports determines the prestige associated to an university. Everyone would like to be a part of such esteemed institutions, even if there is no free-tuition involved. The author fails to take into account all such important criteria in ascertaining the true nature of such a study.

Yet, the reason mentioned in the study may have been a reason for some of the professors to remain in the same university. The author should have taken measures to corroborate this fact by giving a statistical record for a certain duration. By giving insight on the relevance of the aforementioned factors involved, the argument could have been made more rational.

Thus, the argument fails in taking note of all such nuances, that might have caused such retention rate in one university and induced attrition in the other. Inclusion of more variables in such a survey would have given better perspective to the wholesome reality and corroborated the argument.