A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that the recalled pet food was not responsible for any of the signs of illness in pets is flawed. Apart from using vague and ambiguous terms, the author uses data from a limited sample to come to a conclusion. Furthermore, the argument focuses only on one possibility that could have caused illness in pets that had consumed the food.

To begin, the pet food company tested only a few samples from the recalled food. The sample size tested may not be enough to draw a conclusion that the food is free of harmful chemicals. Moreover, the data about who had approved the chemicals present has not been presented in the argument.

Also, the cause for vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness, experienced by pets that had consumed the pet food may not have been solely due to the chemicals in it. The pet food could have been adulterated with other harmful substances that caused illness in pets. There could have been other reasons, the food could have been old stock and hence, not fit for consumption.The argument is flawed because the author directly comes to a conclusion that the pet food was not responsible for these symptoms. He fails to mention if the food was edible.

Even if the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, the company should devote further resources to the investigation. Only then can we come to a conclusion about the quality of the pet food. Without further investigation, it is hard to prove that the recalled food was not responsible for illness in pets. Moreover, by investing resources for investigation, the company can win the goodwill of customers.

The argument can be strengthened if the author provided information regarding the absence of toxins in the recalled pet food. The argument can further be strengthened if the author had mentioned other possibilities that could have caused the pets to fall sick. As it stands, however, the argument is flawed.