The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that Seatown University should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for enhancing morale among the faculty and to lure new professors is flawed. Apart from using vague and ambiguous terms, the argument is filled with data rife with assumptions and the sample is not relevant to the entire region.

First, the argument fails to mention whether study conducted at Oceania University is a genuine one. Can the study conducted at Oceania University be extrapolated to Seatown University? The sample of data is too small for us to come to a conclusion that the same methods used at Oceania University to lure professors are sufficient to lure the professors at Seatown University.

Another flaw in the argument is that different professors have different needs. For example, some professors may see money and bonus as a motivating factor. Others may want recognition and appreciation for their work. So, instituting a free-tuition policy for its professors neither retain old professors, nor lure new ones.

Moreover, it is not necessary for all professors to have college-aged children. Some professors may have children who have already graduated from college, while others may not have children at all. Therefore, adopting the free-tuition policy may not prove to be useful for Seatown University.

The argument can be strengthened if a study is conducted at Seatown University to decide what would enhance faculty retention, and lure new professors. The argument can also be strengthened by citing specific needs of the professors of Seatown University and implementing ways for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors. As it stands, the argument is flawed.