Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

The issue of whether morality or logical reasoning should be the foundation of education is a contentious one. Both sides have their strengths and weaknesses. In my opinion, teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Teaching moral principles at a tender age incorporates values and makes the child scrupled.

Teaching morality should be the foundation of education because children are more humane when they are taught to love each other. Basic values should be incorporated in them. This way, the child sticks to these values throughout his life. The world becomes a better place, filled with love and harmony. Moreover, when moral values are incorporated in the child at a very young age, they are able to differentiate right from wrong. This could prevent the child from turning into a criminal.

While a reasonable person may contend that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society, it may not always be true. People may be able to think cogently and make better decisions when they think logically. However, trying to justify their decisions with reasoning may not always prove to be useful.

Moreover, teaching logical reasoning will not help solve all problems as many problems do not have a logical solution. Also, emphasising on logical reasoning can curb the creativity of children because they are taught of a structured way to think. Instead, they must be allowed to think out of the box. This can be done by instilling them with moral values and leaving them to make decisions on their own.

For example, in some nations like India, more emphasis is laid on teaching moral values to children at a tender age. As they grow, they learn to make decisions logically. This helps them to make better decisions in the future.

To sum up, teaching a foundation of logical reasoning does not always enable people to produce a moral society. Instead, more emphasis should be made on teaching morality like respect for others, maintaining hygiene, doing what is right etc. This way, we will be able to produce a moral society.