Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The issue of whether young people should follow their dreams or pick worthy goals is a contentious one. While each side has its strengths and weaknesses, I believe that young people should follow their dreams. This way, they are unfettered to choose the career they like the most.

Reasonable people may contend that many people's dreams are inherently selfish. For example, people may want to earn more money and become rich, without regard to social ethics. However, telling them to pick reasonable goals and not follow their dreams is not a solution to the problem. Children must be taught values and ethics, and should be allowed to choose the path they like the most.

Moreover, young people who follow their dreams have better chances of succeeding in what they do, than people who have been told to pick worthy goals. Inasmuch as people who follow their dreams feel contented and happy when they achieve their goals, they should not be told what goal they should choose. If young people are told what to do with their lives, they will feel manacled. Instead, they should be given freedom to choose what they want to do in the future.

Young minds are filled with hope and creativity. They are pristine and clear. They may dream about things which sound quixotic to many. But, this does not mean that they are incapable of achieving their dreams. Their artistic skills and creativity should not be curbed. They should be given a chance to prove themselves.

To sum up, even though young people are fledglings and naive, they should be given an opportunity to prove themselves. Instead of emphasising on picking worthy goals, they should be allowed to be what they want.