A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring.

The author’s claims of the high stimulation in first borns of rhesus monkeys resting upon the hormone cortisol , is by many ways filled with potholes.The conclusions draw by the author need more firm support than discussed in the above text.

The research has been carried out only on as much as 18 rehsus monkeys and is being implied on the whole. this conclusion lacks proper practical amount of observations.For instance, the high cortisol levels maybe be predominant in the subjects tested but may not be viable or true in the whole species.

More rigorous examinations have to be carried out in order to proclaim a notion on the cortisol levels.

Moreover, the first-borns monkeys are being compared to the humans first-borns.this is a flawed view as a sound basis of all other factors have to be considered before comparing the biology species.Things like, their metabolism and sexual abilities have to be studied in order to compare on a very specific

Terms as the author does. A more detailed analysis has to be carried out regarding the several other situations before contrasting.

The argument fails to acknowledge the factors of the growth of the first-born in the environment he is subjected to.The environment considering the growth of the first-borns is completed evaded . An offspring can develop high levels of stimulation subject to the surroundings it is exposed to . For example, in an calm environment the offspring can develop high stimulation in advent of a surprise or shock whereas in tougher situations the stimulation found might be low.

it might be somewhat plausible to consider that the high levels of cortisol found in first time mothers is a valid reason for increased stimulation in the first- born.However, this should not account for the only reason. As over time, there is a fair chance of the hormones to replenish before the pregnancy.this situation is completely overlooked in the author’s argument.

We can only say at this juncture that the research needs to be more rigorous in order to draw any conclusions. The authors claims and arguments are precocious at this stage and need more proof for the viability .